Pi Sigma Alpha

New Pi Sigma Executive Council Members Elected

Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, announced the election of Dr. Taeko Hiroi, Dr. Alecia Hoffman, Dr. Dwaine Jengelley, Dr. Neil Ruiz, Clarissa Unger, and Dr. Everett A. Vieira III as members of the 2022-2024 Executive Council during the organization’s biennial business meeting. Please join us in welcoming them, and we invite you to learn more about them in the information below.

Taeko Hiroi is Professor in the Department of Political Science and Public Administration at The University of Texas at El Paso and an affiliated faculty member of the Center for Inter-American and Border Studies and Asian Studies Program. Her research and teaching areas include comparative political institutions, legislative politics, presidential and legislative coalitions, electoral systems and political representation, governance and accountability, democratization, and comparative and international political economy. She has been the advisor for the Epsilon Epsilon chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha since 2008 and in that time, the chapter has received 7 Pi Sigma Alpha Best Chapter awards.

Alecia D. Hoffman is an associate professor of political science at Alabama State University. She earned her Master of Arts from Auburn University and Doctor of Philosophy from Clark Atlanta University. Her areas of research interest include the development of the Global South, international relations/political economy, foreign policy, migration/trafficking, and Sino-African relations. She is the author, co-author, editor, and co-editor of several publications in edited peer-reviewed works, such as Human Trafficking in Africa and China in Africa. She has been the advisor for the Alpha Gamma Psi chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha since 2016. 


Dwaine Jengelley is a political scientist in the John Martinson Honors College at Purdue University, West Lafayette IN. His research interests include media and terrorism, the factors that influence how journalists report the news, and media coverage of race. His work has been published in journals such Terrorism and Political Violence and Politics Groups and Identities. He also directs the Interdisciplinary Sports Research Generator at the John Martinson Honors College. Dr. Jengelley is also a member of Pi Sigma Alpha.


Neil G. Ruiz is associate director of race and ethnicity research at the Pew Research Center. He studies the international movement of people across borders, high-skilled immigration to the U.S. and around the world, and utilizes a mixed methods approach (demographic, qualitative and survey) to studying Asian Americans and other rare populations. Dr. Ruiz is also the founding chair of AAPOR’s Asian American and Pacific Islander Research and Affinity group. He is a political economist with a doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, a master’s degree from Oxford University, and a bachelor’s degree from the University of California, Berkeley. He was inducted as a member of Pi Sigma Alpha as an undergraduate student.

Dr. Taeko Hiroi

Dr. Alecia Hoffman

Dr. Dwaine Jengelley

Dr. Neil Ruiz

Clarissa Unger

Dr. Everett A. Vieira III

Clarissa Unger is the Co-Founder and Executive Director of the Students Learn Students Vote Coalition, the largest national nonpartisan network in the United States dedicated to increasing student voter participation. She has a background in advocacy, communications, fundraising, and political campaigns and has worked on strategic campaigns both nationally and internationally. Ms. Unger has a Masters in Public Administration and a BA in Political Science and International Studies from the University of Kansas and a Masters in Comparative European Politics from Trinity College in Dublin, Ireland. She is also a member of Pi Sigma Alpha, inducted as an undergraduate student.

Everett A. Vieira III is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Political Science at California State University, Fresno. As a comparative/IR specialist, his teaching and research interests focus on political violence, politics of memory, democratization, and Latin America. Dr. Vieira advises the Alpha Delta Beta chapter at Fresno State, which earned back-to-back Best Chapter Awards for the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 academic years. He holds MA/PhD degrees in Political Science from Temple University, and earned BA/MA degrees in Political Science from San Diego State University where he was inducted into the Gamma Upsilon chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha as an undergraduate.

We are excited to welcome these experienced individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of political science to the Pi Sigma Alpha Council and look forward to working with them! More information about the full Pi Sigma Alpha Executive Council and PSA governance structures can be found here.